Strung

Click here to buy prints, posters and cards of these photographs!

My mother started playing the guitar when she was in college, back in the late 60s. She had always been musical – achieving grade 8 on the piano, and playing cello and clarinet for her boarding school orchestra. The guitar was a more 60s- and 70s-friendly instrument, one you could pick up at a house party to play a Joan Baez or Bob Dillon song.

Her first guitar was one her mother owned. It’s lying around the house these days with no strings, no fret board. I gather it’s such poor quality it’s not worth the cost of getting it fixed up, so we keep it for its sentimental value more than anything. Someday soon it’ll be a museum piece.

Once my mother had mastered ten chords and some finger-picking techniques, she bought her second guitar. She met her French guitar teacher in the city, and together they picked out a guitar in Walton’s music shop, which is still the biggest music shop in Dublin today. It was the mid-1970s, and it cost her 25 pounds.

As a child, I played the violin and the tin whistle, and I surely must have picked up the guitar at some point, only to find that my fingers – long as they were for a child my age – couldn’t get to grips with the wide neck. But I didn’t give it much thought until I was fourteen. I was studying for my Junior Certificate in school that year, but I never had to do much work when I was younger to achieve good grades (that would change later, much to my shock and chagrin). I had just started listening to the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Nirvana, Bob Dillon and Jeff Buckley, and I had a burning desire to learn the guitar.

So my mother’s second guitar became my first. Her music-playing days had gradually lapsed, and I was to carry the torch. I spend two or three solid years playing for hours each day, writing several songs a week during that time. I fell out of the habit, and never became really good, and now my shiny new Martin guitar sits in its box mostly untouched. But I still have a soft spot for that first Spanish guitar, and the memories it disturbs, rising like dust.

4 thoughts on “Strung

    • It is sad, but I think more than anything it’s been lack of time keeping both of us from it. My mother hasn’t really played any music since I was born, she got out of the habit, I guess. She does talk about taking up the piano again. I would like to think I’ll get back to the guitar – I do occasionally take it out again – but the problem is always fitting in everything, and it’s just become less of a priority for me!

  1. Ah, there is nothing like your first instrument. I appreciate there conflicting priorities that take time away from music but you may come back to it. I played in a band in the 80s and then let things lapse until about six years ago. So now as I approach my sixth decade, we have an album out and I am having more fun than ever. Times change and opportunities present themselves.
    http://waddellz.wordpress.com/2010/12/20/first-guitar/

    • Yes, they are special, aren’t they? I think playing music will probably always be a part of my life. My violin playing and song writing have lapsed as well, but I do tinker around on the piano and sing a bit from time to time. So hopefully when I have more time on my hands I will come back to it more! I would have loved to be in a band, but it hasn’t happened yet – but I like to hear you’ve recently got back into it, makes me think it’s never too late! 🙂

Leave a Reply

