Easily annoyed

“Aswell” and “alot” are not words. Funny enough, MS Word has a handy little feature where it puts a red line under misspellings and a green or blue line under possible grammar mistakes or misuse of words. So why the hell do people ignore it?? If aswell and alot were words, surely Word would know about it? Christ.

I’ve never thought of myself as being one of those people who gets upset and personally affronted when people make grammar mistakes. But when you’re at Masters level in university, you would expect a little better. At the very least, you would expect people to be able to use spell-check. The odd mistake here and there is understandable and to be expected, but I find it astonishing that so many people on my course have major, major problems with basic grammar rules in the English language.

I apologise for the rant, and if you are one of those people who uses these “words” – or worse, God forbid, one of the grammatically challenged fellow Masters students I’m talking about – please don’t take it too personally. Just learn to look out for those bloody red and green lines, they’re there for a reason. And so, for that matter, are commas and apostrophes.

/fume

7 thoughts on “Easily annoyed

    • I guess I’ve just been lucky to avoid it up until now, as I never had to do any group work or deal with others’ work until this course. I’m not sure if I’m glad or more peeved to hear it’s a common phenomenon!

      • Lol. The way you just put that is funny. “I’m not sure…common phenomenon!” I think you should certainly be more peeved. It is a sad situation–the level of the students’ “ignorance” where those writing errors are concerned. It is not so much the “simple” errors being made; however, it is more so the fact that these errors are commonly found amongst students at those higher degree levels. – LB

  1. Floccinaucinihilipilification.

    Believe it or not, I have spelled it in less that three seconds.

    I’ll note down your first name, Áine, in my Book of Names and used it for one of my characters. She might be a poetess.

Leave a Reply

