Roses

I don’t believe, he said,
Roses never stay red.
But I won’t leave, she said,
Until the petals are all dead.

He took her hand, and smiled
with the closeness of a child.
She holds his hand, and smiles,
and it’s bursting in her eyes.

Hope, it sits
upon these lips.
Hearstrings are torn.
Hope, it sits
upon these lips
Shadows are born.

I don’t believe, he cried,
I am hollow inside.
Just let it out, she cried,
There are things that words can’t hide.

He took her hand instead
questions spinning in his head.
She held his gaze and said,
Don’t you crush my heart of lead.

For hope is rich
upon these lips.
Heartstrings are torn.
Hope is rich
upon these lips.
Shadows are born.

I don’t believe, he said,
Roses never stay red.
But I won’t leave, she said,
Until the petals are all dead.

Her gaze falls to the ground,
a single tear without a sound.
He pulls his hand away
and says, Today is not our day.

But hope is rich
upon these lips
and just one kiss
will not hurt you,
yeah hope is rich
upon these lips,
a goodbye kiss
will not hurt you.

 

I wrote this song in November 2005, but I found it yesterday and thought I would share. It’s one of the few old songs that I still like. I might record it over the summer.

One thought on “Roses

Leave a Reply

