Exhaustion

My college assignments are winding to a close, and I have never been so tired in my life. As a control freak and a perfectionist, I think all these group projects are going to be the death of me. I’m currently sitting working my way through a 30-page report, trying desperately to whip it into shape and omit the bucket loads of inconsistencies and repetitions.

I have another week to go after today, but the worst of it will be over by the end of the day. Apparently I’m then going out and getting drunk, but I’m finding it hard to imagine how I’ll have the energy to stand by then. I feel like I haven’t slept in a week.

I feel like all I’ve been doing is working solidly all day, and then re-reading one of Maggie O’Farrell’s books for a while in the evening before sleeping. So my life has turned into this hazy strange place, where I find it hard to remember if some of the story lines twisting around in my head are mine or the character’s. I find life sort of folds into itself when I’m busy and stressed and don’t have time to just sit and think, or write.

Anyway, it’s 5 to 12 and I have to be in college in a few hours to meet one of my group members and finish this thing off. Wish me luck, I may be a crazy ball of messy non-human by tonight…

One thought on “Exhaustion

Leave a Reply

