NaNoWriMo: 20,000 words!

Today I reached another NaNoWriMo milestone – 20,000 words! I was a bit behind after being sick and having a bit of a tumultuous weekend, but I got 2,650 words down today without too much effort.

I had realised a few days ago during a conversation with my boyfriend that one of the things that was slowing the writing down was that I didn’t know some of my characters well enough. Despite the plot outlining I had done, I had made the mistake of assuming they would emerge as I went. And sure, they probably could if I wasn’t tied down to a specific deadline. But as it is, I was hoping to get my writing done in the mornings on most days, and it was spilling over into the afternoon.

So I spent just fifteen minutes this morning working out a few details, and the two scenes I worked on practically wrote themselves. So I definitely think I need to get into the habit of doing a bit more planning before I start writing – it seems to suit me much, much better.

I had thought I might post an excerpt soon, but I haven’t had time to think about it yet. I feel like I’ve been away from WordPress for a long time, even though it’s really only been a few days. I’ve had a difficult couple of days, but I hope everything has been resolved now in my personal life. I’m certainly feeling a lot better than I have in a few weeks.

30 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: 20,000 words!

  1. Keep it up; 20,000 is a good accomplishment after being behind. Best of luck to you. As to not knowing your characters, that’s normal in some ways. Obviously you want to know your characters, but also don’t be afraid to let them surprise you.

    • Thanks very much! Yes, I think I know what you mean. I’m certainly trying not to be too rigid, and I’d say I will go back when rewriting and editing and change some of earlier writing to fit the characters better as they have developed.

  2. Well done on your progress so far. I’ve never taken part in NaNoWriMo but from friends who have, I understand it is not an easy feat. Very best of luck for the remainder of November.

  3. Pingback: Day 12 of NaNoWriMo | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  4. Glad you’re feeling better and writing so much. 2,650 words in one day! Wow! There are so many techniques for building characters and sometimes it takes a while for characters to show themselves. I’ve had to drag a few characters out of my stories to have a good tête-à-tête with them. Sounds silly I suppose, but I can’t write them properly unless I know everything about them.

    • Thank you! Yes I know exactly what you mean with characters showing themselves. And it’s funny you say that, my boyfriend told me it sounded like I needed to sit down and have coffee with my characters. :)

  5. Pingback: Snow? On day 12 of NaNo? « Run4joy59's Blog

  6. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day 12 – The Good, The Bad and The Unwritten « What If It All Means Something

  7. Pingback: Day 12: NaNoLaundroDay | Journey of a Creative Playful Explorer

  8. Pingback: What Kind of Champion are You? Sprint, Middle or Long Distance? « bridgesburning

  9. Pingback: NaNoWriMo: It’s All Right To Take Your Time | An Evil Nymph's Blog

  10. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 12 | Side Quest Publications

  11. Pingback: NaNo: Lonely Writer Seeks Characters For Mutual Companionship « Stork Hunting

  12. So wonderfully jealous for you! Was on a business trip the past week and absolutely no writing was done (although I was introduced to the Traveler’s Notebook and promptly bought one for myself hurrah!). Going away again for another 5 days for team retreat but will make time to catch up. Hurrah for you again!

Leave a Reply

