NaNoWriMo Update & Blog Direction

Well, today was day 5 of NaNo – my fourth day of writing because I’ll be taking a day off a week – and so far so good. I’ve decided to go for a target of 2,000 words a day and will take one day off a weekend if I feel like it, which gives me a leeway of 2,000 words. I’m a bit ahead of my target though, at just over 8,500 words, so it looks more and more probably that I will actually manage this thing.

So far it hasn’t really sunk in, I don’t think. I’m finding it a little hard to engage with my story – I think I’m going to have to print it out and read over it (to avoid reading it on the screen as this may lead to editing which I don’t want!). I didn’t really want to be reading back over it but it may be necessary to keep the momentum of the story going.

I also have never written this much of one story before – apart from a “Harry Potter sequel” I started when I was about 12, but that’s another story entirely (and I will probably write about that soon). So I’m aware that I might find it difficult at first – there may be speed bumps. But I’m optimistic.

In other news, I’m finding that I’m not sticking with my resolution to write flash fiction every Saturday, so I’m going to drop it for the moment. It’s particularly tough now that I’m doing NaNo. I will mostly be writing personal updates, I think, and I hope to keep the photographs going, but for November the fiction will have to take a rest. I’m contemplating posting NaNo excerpts though – I’ll see how I feel about it.

But anyway – it’s all generally positive, my bug is wearing off and I’m gradually feeling more energetic, so it’s (hopefully) all up from here!

17 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Update & Blog Direction

  1. Glad you’refeeling better, Aine. Yesterday was a struggle for me, but I reached my word count goal. It’s funny how some days the story moves with ease and others, like yesterday, I didn’t know where it was going. Good luck with your writing today!

  2. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 5 | Side Quest Publications

  3. Pingback: Avoidance and Penalty | the daily creative writer

  4. I feel the same way about going back to read mine! I feel like people make it sound like your computer will explode and you’ll never write again if you re-read it before it is finished. But going back has helped me. Let me know how it goes!

  5. Pingback: NaNoFiMo Day 7 | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

Leave a Reply

